The Alverton Hotel, Truro - our grade II* listed building stands on its hillside setting within the Cornish capital city, where it has been since 1830.
Years of history...
The Alverton was once a convent many moons ago. Therefore, our hotel has a fascinating timeline. Delve back in time with us as we explore our Cornish roots. Find out how the beautiful four-silver star hotel that welcomes thousands of visitors and locals each year for a little slice of laid-back luxury came to be. Let’s take a trip back in time!
Our story begins with Mr William Tweedy...
The East wing of The Alverton Manor was built for William Tweedy of Truro Vean as a family home in the early 1830s. The Tweedys were a family of repute within the small society of Truro. Senior partners in the Cornish Bank, steadfast supporters of the Tory interest in the town and respected members of the town Corporation.
Certainly, The Alverton Manor, with its large garden, was an indication of the prosperity of a “rising” family. The grounds provided William’s thirteen children with an ample play area. William Tweedy, a keen gardener, acted as President of the Royal Horticultural Society for Cornwall from the mid 1830s until his death a quarter of a century later in 1859. After that, the gardens he laid were still open to the public over a decade later.
The Bank of Cornwall
Sadly, William Tweedy passed away. Subsequently, the manor house became partly owned by The Bank of Cornwall. Their profits (and later losses) were linked closely with the tin mining industry.
After centuries of dominance, the Cornish tin industry was challenged by cheaper imports. The Cornish Bank loaned money to many mines. As a result, the bank accumulated a series of bad debts due to the closure of those mines. Therefore, confidence in the bank was dented.
An anxious search for a body to come to its rescue ensued. However, no help was forthcoming. The bank underwent an audit, and was found to be insolvent. In due course, it was liquidated. Eventually, the bank was forced to close its doors to customers and divide its assets in 1879.
In April 1881 The Alverton was sold by Mrs Jane Tweedy, the widow of William Tweedy. After that, Mr Pascoe bought the thirteen bedroom manor house for £6200 and built what is now known as The Library.
The Order of Epiphany
Mr Pascoe owned The Alverton for a couple of years. However, in 1883 it was acquired by The Order of Epiphany, a religious group that started with five Anglican nuns from London lead by Bishop George Wilkinson. The Order grew rapidly, beginning with five nuns in 1883. Based in Truro, the nuns travelled around the Duchy to help local clerics. They helped young prostitutes between the ages of 14-20 and offered crucial aid with the treatment of tuberculosis. In addition, they also built a chapel (now known as The Great Hall) and the courtyard building.
The Epiphany never grew to be a massive order. Its always retained its familiar character. As the Order contracted in size in the 1960s and 1970s, The Alverton became the only House for the Sisters. Eventually in 1984 even The Alverton became too big for the remaining nuns. Therefore they moved to the old Episcopal residence of Copeland Court, on the other side of Truro.
The Alverton Hotel Truro
The nuns moved onto a much more suitable residence for their small size. As a result, The Alverton was converted into a grand country house hotel.
Finally, a Cornish hotel group purchased The Alverton Manor and renamed it ‘The Alverton’, with plans to lovingly restore it to its former glory as the best, luxury hotel in Truro. We have a rich history spanning across the centuries. Above all, we are dedicated to paying homage to our story. Consequently, various artefacts, old photographs and curious features are peppered around every corner of The Alverton Hotel Truro.
We are now a proud four silver star hotel. Visit our two AA-rosette award-winning restaurant, gorgeous private gardens, relaxing bar and terrace and 51 individual and fully equipped bedrooms. Original features meet modern furnishings to create a unique hotel on the outskirts of the Cornish capital. Most importantly, we continue to build and expand on the foundations laid down by our predecessors.